To create a custom user role in Stockpress, click on ‘Roles’ in the settings area of your workspace. Here you can create a custom role and assign additional capabilities to your users based on need.

Add a custom role button

Click the ‘+ add custom role’ button.

Add a name and description to your custom role

Name your role and give it a short description. This will help you to quickly identify what that role can do when assigning it to new users and will only be visible to admin users and custom roles with settings access.

Click Save.

Set custom role capabilities

Now that the role is created, you can switch to the Capabilities tab.

Click the toggle to turn on capabilities for files and Collections.

When you’re ready to publish your role, click save and your role has been created.

You can now assign this role under the Permissions and Teams tab when editing or creating a new user.

Stockpress user role capabilities are as follows

File Capabilities:

Upload files: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users can upload files to the platform and will have full access to any file that they upload.

Browse archived files: When toggled ‘on’, users will be able to browse the archive containing files that have been archived by admins.

Download files: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users can download any file on the platform that they have been invited to collaborate on.

Download files by request only: When toggled ‘on’, users will have to request to download files that they have been invited to collaborate on.

Share files: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users can share files that they have been invited to collaborate on internally with other Stockpress users or externally via email and/or link.

Edit files: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users can edit files that they have been invited to collaborate on. This includes file names, descriptions, statuses (if applicable), collaboration (private or public), and add or remove file tags.

Delete files: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users can delete files that they have been invited to collaborate on. This includes files that they are not the owner of.

Invite to collaborate on files: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users can invite and remove teams and users to collaborate on files.

Create public files: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users will be able to add files to the platform that are public for other users to see.

Watermarked previews only: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users will see a watermark on all file previews.

--

Collection Capabilities:

Download collections: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users will be able to download entire collections of files that they have been invited to collaborate on.

Download collections by request only: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users will have to request to download collections.

Share collections: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users can share entire collections that they have been invited to collaborate on internally with other Stockpress users or externally via email and/or link.

Edit collections: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users can edit collection names and change the collection group that they are associated with.

Delete collections: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users can delete collections that they have been invited to collaborate on. Remember that deleting a collection does not delete the files associated with it as files can live across multiple collections.

Edit collaboration on collections: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users can edit the collection visibility of Collections they have been invited to collaborate on (private or public) and apply that access status to files associated with that collection. They can also invite or remove teams and users to collaborate.

Create public collections: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users will be able to create public collections of files. Public collections are viewable by ALL logged-in users in your Stockpress workspace.

Reorder files in collections: When toggled ‘on’, logged-in users will be able to reorder files in Collections.

If you decide not to make custom roles, regular Stockpress users will be able to see and manage only the files that they own (meaning those that they upload) in their account, or files/collections that they have been invited to collaborate on by other Stockpress users. Owning a file means that you can download, share, edit, assign access and delete that file. If a file is owned by another Stockpress user, it can only be downloaded, shared, or added/removed from collections.

Find out more about Stockpress Collections vs. folders here.

Did this answer your question?